The most severe penalty a driver can face in South Carolina for texting behind the wheel is a $25 fine. An epidemic of cellphone use by motorists and a worrying rise in distracted driving accidents have prompted many lawmakers in Columbia to back a bill that would sharply increase this penalty and introduce the new law of driving while under the influence of an electronic device. That bill was read on Jan. 8 and is now being scrutinized by a House committee, but lawmakers in Nevada are taking a different approach.
Daylight Savings Time requires people in South Carolina to spring their watches forward one hour in March, costing them at least one hour of sleep that night in the process. According to the Foundation for Traffic Safety, operated by AAA, missing one or two hours of the recommended sleep time in a single period of 24 hours may as much as double the person's risk of a car accident. Typically, drivers require seven hours of sleep each night in order to drive safely.