It’s illegal for you to drive while you’re intoxicated here in South Carolina. If you’re stopped on suspicion of operating your vehicle while inebriated, perform poorly on field sobriety tests and have a blood alcohol content of .08% or more, then you’re likely to be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). The penalties that you face if you’re charged with such a crime vary depending on many factors.
A first-time DUI offender in South Carolina is likely to be locked up in jail from anywhere between 48 hours and 30 days. These defendants are generally also assessed as much as $400 in fines or $992 once fees are tacked on. Their driver’s license may also be automatically suspended for six months.
Individuals who are charged with their second DUI charge here in South Carolina may be assessed between $2,100 and $5,100 in fines or $10,744.50 once fees are added to the mix. Any second-time DUI offender may be ordered to serve up to five days a year in jail if convicted of such an offense. They’re also likely to have their driver’s license suspended for an entire year.
Anyone who’s charged with their third or more DUI convictions within five years of their first one is likely to have their driver’s license suspended for four years. A defendant may have their car confiscated if they’ve been convicted of three DUIs within the past 10 years. A third-time conviction carries with it a period of incarceration of between 60 days and three years. Convicted defendants may also have to pay between $3,800 and $6,300 in fines or $13,234.50 with fees tacked on.
Any motorist that is convicted of four or more DUI offenses in South Carolina will generally have their driver’s license permanently revoked. They generally qualify for anywhere from one to five years in prison for such an offense as well.
Certain circumstances may result in a motorist being charged with an aggravated DUI offense. These types of crimes carry with them enhanced penalties.
A DUI conviction can affect your ability to secure or retain a job and affect your ability to live your life on your terms in many other ways. This is why you should consult with an attorney here in Myrtle Beach if you’ve facing criminal charges. They can advise you of your rights and help you defend them in your case.